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Introduction
Georgia is proud of the benefits available to veterans in the state.

This book is intended to provide an overview of these benefits
with general explanations and descriptions of each.

For a full understanding of any benefit, as well as assistance
applying, please visit any office of the Georgia Department of
Veterans Service (GDVS).

The GDVS exists to serve the veterans of Georgia and their
families. The department offers a wide range of superb services
and programs, including excellent veterans benefits assistance;
devoted claims and appeals support; skilled nursing home care;
compassionate cemetery committal services; and rewarding
veterans education, on-the-job training, and apprenticeship training
program management.

GDVS representatives strive to ensure Georgia’s veterans
receive all of the federal and state benefits to which they are entitled.
For more information regarding benefits or other veterans issues,
call 404-656-2300 or visit veterans.georgia.gov.

The benefits described in this book are available to Georgia
veterans pursuant to the authority of the state constitution, the
Official Code of Georgia Annotated, and the authority vested in the
GDVS and other state government agencies.

References to specific sections of the law governing certain
benefits are included in an appendix at the back of this book.

Please remember — no benefit is automatic; eligible veterans
must apply for their earned benefits in order to receive them.

Disclaimer: This book is intended for informational purposes
and no guarantee of benefits is implied. To verify eligibility,
please contact the GDVS.
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Defining “Veteran”

For most purposes in Georgia law, the term “veteran” is used
to mean someone who has, in the past, served in one of the U.S.
armed services and is now a civilian.

However, many veterans benefits are limited to those with an
honorable discharge or at least require the character of discharge
to be other than dishonorable. (These restrictions are noted in the
individual benefit descriptions.)

Generally, the term “veteran” does not include anyone currently
on active duty. However, some benefits may also be available to
those on active duty or to current members of the Georgia National
Guard or Reserves. (These exceptions are noted in the individual
benefit descriptions.)

Disabled Veteran Homestead Tax Exemption

This exemption is available to honorably discharged Georgia
veterans who are considered disabled according to any of several
criteria.

In order to qualify, the disabled veteran must own the home and
use it as a primary residence. The exemption extends to surviving
unremarried spouses and minor children as long as they remain in
the homestead or a subsequent homestead in the same county.

For purposes of this tax exemption, a veteran may be considered
disabled due to:

* 100 percent service-connected VA disability rating *

* 100 percent totally and permanently disabled *

* 100 percent totally disabled — nonpermanent (requires annual

recertification) *

* Less than 100 percent disabled but paid at the 100 percent rate

due to unemployability *

* Loss or permanent loss of use of one or both feet *

* Loss or permanent loss of use of one or both hands *

* Loss of sight in one or both eyes *

* Permanent impairment of both eyes (defined as “central
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visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye [with corrective
glasses] or central visual acuity of more than 20/200 if there is a
field defect in which the peripheral field has contracted to such
an extent that the widest diameter of visual field subtends on
angular distance no greater than 20 degrees in the better eye.”)*
* loss or loss of use of both lower extremities such as to
preclude locomotion without the aid of braces, crutches, canes,
or a wheelchair *

* blindness in both eyes, having only light perception, together
with the loss or loss of use of one lower extremity *

* loss or loss of use of one lower extremity together with
residuals of organic disease or injury which so affect the functions
of balance or propulsion as to preclude locomotion without resort
to a wheelchair #

* loss or loss of use of one lower extremity together with the loss
orloss of use of one upper extremity which so affects the functions
of balance or propulsion as to preclude locomotion without the
aid of braces, crutches, canes, or a wheelchair #

*— Rating letter required
A — Physician’s statement required

Per the state constitution, the amount of this exemption is the
greater of $32,500 or the maximum amount allowable under 38
U.S.C. 2101. (The maximum amount is $60,000 plus an index
factor, which currently adjusts the total to $63,780.)

For those who were not aware of the amount of the authorized
exemption, it is possible to file a claim for a refund of taxes that
have been overpaid. Any claim for a refund must be filed within
three years after the date of payment.

To apply, take proof of qualifying service, proof of residency,
and a copy of VA disability rating letter (or letter from an authorized
physician) to a GDVS Veterans Field Service Office. A GDVS
service officer will confirm eligibility and issue a letter to be taken to
the county tax commissioner’s office.

For more information on tax exemptions, visit dor.georgia.gov,
call 404-724-7000, contact your county tax commissioner’s office,
or consult a tax professional.
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Other Homestead Tax Exemptions

There are a variety of homestead tax exemptions for Georgians
who own their home and use it as their primary residence.

For more information on tax exemptions, visit dor.georgia.gov,
call 404-724-7000, contact your county tax commissioner’s office,
or consult a tax professional.

Standard Homestead Exemption

A $2,000 deduction for all qualifying home owners.

10-Acre Exemption for 65 and Older

An exemption from all state ad valorem taxes on the home (and
up to 10 acres of land surrounding the home) for those 65 or older.

$4.000 Exemption for 65 and Older

A $4,000 exemption from all state and county ad valorem taxes
on the home for those 65 and older, provided the income* of the
owner and spouse does not exceed $10,000 for the prior year.

Educational Purposes Exemption for 62 and Older

A $10,000 exemption from ad valorem taxes for educational
purposes for those 62 and older, provided the income* of the owner
and spouse does not exceed $10,000 for the prior year.

Floating Inflation-Proof Exemption for 62 and Older

A floating inflation-proof state and county homestead exemption,
except for taxes to pay interest on and to retire bonded indebtedness,
based on natural increases in the homestead’s value. If the home
has increased by more than $10,000, the owner may benefit from
this exemption. The income* of the owner and spouse or any other
person living there cannot exceed $30,000.

* — Certain exclusions may apply
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Other Tax Exemptions

Abatement of Income Taxes for Combat Deaths

Georgia law provides that service personnel who die as a result
of wounds, disease, or injury incurred while serving in a combat
zone as a member of the U.S. armed forces are exempt from all
Georgia income taxes for the taxable year of death. Additionally,
such taxes shall not apply for any prior taxable year ending on or
after the first day served in the combat zone.

Ad Valorem Tax on Vehicles

This exemption applies to either the annual property tax or the
title tax, whichever is applicable.

This exemption is for veterans who are verified by VA to be 100
percent totally and permanently service-connected disabled and
veterans who are receiving or who are entitled to receive statutory
awards from VAfor: (1) loss or permanent loss of use of one or both
feet; (2) loss or permanent loss of use of one or both hands; (3) loss
of sight in one or both eyes; or (4) permanent impairment of vision
of both eyes to a prescribed degree.

Exemption is granted on one vehicle the veteran owns and upon
which the free Disabled Veteran (DV) license plate is attached.

Also exempt are veterans who qualify for the Purple Heart or
Medal of Honor specialty license plates. (See page 14.)

Business Cettificate of Exemption

Georgia veterans are eligible for an exemption from any
occupation tax, administrative fee, or regulatory fee imposed by
local governments for peddling, conducting a business, or practicing
a profession or semi-profession, if they meet all of these conditions:

» discharged under honorable conditions

* service-connected disability rating of 10 percent (wartime

veterans) or 25 percent (peacetime veterans)

* income is not liable for state income taxes
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Extension of Filing Deadline for Combat Deployment

The tax filing deadline for combat deployed military personnel
(those who served on active duty as members of the U.S. armed
forces in combat activities during a period designated by the
President) is extended until 180 days after such deployment ends.

Sales Tax Exemption for Vehicle Purchase/Adaptation

Adisabled veteran who receives a VA grant for the purchase and
special adapting of a vehicle is exempt from paying the state sales
tax on the vehicle (only on the original grant).

Driving Licenses

Veteran’s Driver’s License — Free Version

This special version of a Georgia driver’s license includes a U.S.
flag and the word VETERAN prominently displayed on the front.

An honorably discharged veteran is entitled to a free veteran’s
driver’s license if two criteria are met: Georgia residency and service
during a recognized period of war or conflict.

There are two ways to meet the Georgia residency requirement:

* The veteran entered service from Georgia (as shown on DD
Form 214) and is a current resident of Georgia.

* The veteran has been a legal Georgia resident for the past two
consecutive years.

Honorable military service qualifies if a veteran served on active
duty during a period of recognized war or conflict. This includes
service in the National Guard or the Reserves, if such service
included placement on active duty during a recognized war or
conflict. It does not include periodic transfer from reserve status to
active duty for training purposes.

Recognized service periods:
» World War Il: December 7, 1941 — December 31, 1946
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*» Korea: June 27, 1950 — January 31, 1955

* Lebanon Conflict: July 1, 1958 — November 1, 1958

* Vietnam: July 1, 1958 — May 7, 1975

* Berlin Conflict: August 14, 1961 — June 1, 1963.

» Dominican Republic Conflict: April 28, 1965 — Sept. 21, 1966
» Grenada Conflict: October 23, 1983 — November 21, 1983

» Panama Liberation: December 30, 1989 — February 15, 1990
* Persian Gulf: August 2, 1990 — present

A member or former member of the National Guard with 20 or
more years of creditable service also qualifies. The veteran should
obtain certification from the Adjutant General of the State of Georgia
and include it with the other required documentation.

In order to obtain a veteran’s driver’s license (free or paid),
the applying veteran must take the required documentation to a
GDVS Veterans Field Service Office. A service officer will verify the
veteran’s eligibility and issue a Certificate of Eligibility (DS-516).

The veteran must then take the completed DS-516, together
with all required identifying documents (birth certificate or passport;
Social Security card; two documents showing residential address;
and, if applicable, name change documentation) to a Georgia
Department of Driver Services (DDS) office. A DDS representative
will administer a vision exam, verify the veteran’s eligibility, and
issue a veteran’s driver’s license. For more information, call 678-
413-8400 (Metro Atlanta) or 866-754-3687 (outside Metro Atlanta),
or visit dds.ga.gov.

Veteran’s Driver’s License — Paid Version

A veteran who does not meet the criteria to obtain a free
veteran’s driver’s license may obtain the license by paying the
standard licensing fee.

National Guard Driver’s License

Any member of the Georgia National Guard or Reserve who is in
good standing and has completed at least one year of satisfactory
service is eligible for a free National Guard Driver’s License.
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In order to apply, an eligible member should obtain a Certificate
of Eligibility (DS-318) from the National Guard Commanding
Officer and take it, together with all required identifying documents
(birth certificate or passport; Social Security card; two documents
showing residential address; and, if applicable, name change
documentation) to a Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS)
office. A DDS representative will administer a vision exam, verify
eligibility, and issue a free National Guard driver’s license. For more
information, call 678-413-8400 (Metro Atlanta) or 866-754-3687
(outside Metro Atlanta), or visit dds.ga.gov.

A member of the National Guard with 20 years of service may
obtain a free veteran’s driver’s license. Please refer to the Veteran’s
Driver’s License section on page 8.

Honorary Driver’s License — Spouse

The spouse of a qualified veteran, whose disabilities preclude
operating a motor vehicle, is eligible for a free honorary driver’s
license. Residence and qualifying service terms are the same as
stated for a free veteran’s driver’s license.

The surviving unremarried spouse of an eligible deceased
veteran is eligible for a free honorary driver’s license. Residence
and qualifying service terms are the same as stated for a free
veteran’s driver’s license.

In order to obtain a free honorary driver’s license, take proof of
the spouse’s qualifying service and residency to a GDVS Veterans
Field Service Office. Also provide verification of spouse’s disabilities
that preclude operating a motor vehicle or a copy of spouse’s death
certificate, whichever is applicable. A service officer will verify
eligibility and issue a completed Certificate of Eligibility (DS-516).

The spouse must then take the completed DS-516, together
with all required identifying documents (birth certificate or passport;
Social Security card; two documents showing residential address;
and, if applicable, name change documentation) to a Georgia
Department of Driver Services (DDS) office. A DDS representative
will administer a vision exam, verify eligibility, and issue a free
honorary driver’s license.
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Personal Identification Cards

Veteran’s ID Card

A veteran who meets the eligibility and residency requirements
for a free veteran’s driver’s license and still cannot obtain one may
be eligible for a free veteran’s ID card. A veteran is not eligible for
a Georgia ID card if in possession of a valid driver’s license from
another state. For clarification regarding eligibility qualifications,
please refer to the Veteran’s Driver’s License section.

In order to obtain a free veteran’s ID card, the applicant must
take proof of qualifying service and residency to a GDVS Veterans
Field Service Office. A service officer will verify eligibility and issue
a completed Certificate of Eligibility (DS-516).

The applicant must then take the completed DS-516, together
with all required identifying documents (birth certificate or passport;
Social Security card; two documents showing residential address;
and, if applicable, name change documentation) to a Georgia
Department of Driver Services (DDS) office. A DDS representative
will verify eligibility and issue a free veteran’s ID card. For more
information, call 678-413-8400 (Metro Atlanta) or 866-754-3687
(outside Metro Atlanta), or visit dds.ga.gov.

Honorary ID Card

The spouse of a disabled veteran who meets the eligibility and
residency requirements for a free veteran’s driver’s license and still
cannot obtain one may be eligible for a free honorary ID card.

The surviving unremarried spouse of an eligible deceased
veteran may be eligible for a free honorary ID card.

A spouse or surviving spouse is not eligible if in possession of a
valid driver’s license from another state. For clarification regarding
eligibility qualifications, please refer to the eligibility and residence
requirements listed under the Veteran’s Driver’s License section.

In order to obtain a free honorary ID card, the spouse or surviving
spouse must take proof of qualifying service and residency to a
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GDVS Veterans Field Service Office. A service officer will verify
eligibility and issue a completed Certificate of Eligibility (DS-516).

The spouse must then take the completed DS-516, together with
all required identifying documents (birth certificate or passport;
Social Security card; two documents showing residential address;
and, if applicable, name change documentation) to a Georgia
Department of Driver Services (DDS) office. A DDS representative
will verify eligibility and issue a free honorary ID card.

License Plates: Motorcycle

Specialty veterans license plates are generally not available for
motorcycles. (Exceptions are noted where they occur in this book.)

Legislation passed during the 2015 session of the Georgia
General Assembly authorized the creation of additional motorcycle
versions of most plates. Please see dor.georgia.gov for updates.

License Plates: General

To apply for any of these plates, it is necessary to complete
Form MV-9W (available at dor.ga.gov/documents/forms) from the
Motor Vehicle Division of the Georgia Department of Revenue and
take it, along with a copy of your DD Form 214 (or other supporting
documentation for certain plates) to your county tax office.

Veteran’s License Plate

This plate has a U.S. flag background, the seal of the veteran’s
branch of service, and the word VETERAN.

Available to:
» Georgia veterans discharged under honorable conditions
* Surviving, unremarried spouses of qualified deceased veterans

There is no registration fee, manufacturing fee, or annual fee for
one of these specialty plates. An applicant is entitled to a second
plate upon payment of a $25 manufacturing fee in addition to a $20
annual fee.
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Retired Military License Plate

This plate has a U.S. flag background, the seal of the veteran’s
branch of service, and the word RETIRED.

Available to:
» Georgia veterans who retired from active duty
* Surviving, unremarried spouses of qualified deceased veterans

There is no registration fee, manufacturing fee, or annual fee for
one of these specialty plates. An applicant is entitled to a second
plate upon payment of a $25 manufacturing fee in addition to a $20
annual fee.

Commemorative Service License Plate

This plate has a U.S. flag background, the seal of the veteran’s
branch of service, the name of the conflict, and the campaign ribbon.

Available for:

* World War I

» Korean War

* Vietnam War

» Desert Storm

* Global War on Terrorism
* War in Iraq

* War in Afghanistan

Available to:

» Georgia veterans discharged under honorable conditions

» Georgia residents on active duty

* Surviving, unremarried spouses of qualified deceased veterans
and active duty service members

There is no registration fee, manufacturing fee, or annual fee for
one of these specialty plates. An applicant is entitled to a second
plate upon payment of a $25 manufacturing fee in addition to a $20
annual fee.
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Military Medal Award License Plate

This plate has a U.S. flag background, the name of the veteran’s
branch of service, and the name and image of the medal.

Available for:

» Medal of Honor *

* Distinguished Service Cross (Army)

* Navy Cross

* Air Force Cross

* Defense Distinguished Service Medal

* Homeland Security Distinguished Service Medal
* Distinguished Service Medal (Army)

* Navy Distinguished Service Medal

* Air Force Distinguished Service Medal

» Coast Guard Distinguished Service Medal
» Silver Star

» Defense Superior Service Medal

* Legion of Merit

* Distinguished Flying Cross

* Bronze Star Medal

* Purple Heart * #

* Air Medal

* — Special tax provisions apply to these plates; see page 7
A — Motorcycle version available

Available to:

» Georgia veterans discharged under honorable conditions

» Georgia residents on active duty

* Surviving, unremarried spouses of qualified deceased veterans
and active duty service members

There is no registration fee, manufacturing fee, or annual fee for
one of these specialty plates. An applicant is entitled to a second
plate upon payment of a $25 manufacturing fee in addition to a $20
annual fee.
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Reserve Component License Plate

This plate has a U.S. flag background, the name of the reserve
component, and the word RESERVE.

Available to:

* Assigned or attached members of troop program units of any
branch of the active reserve components of the United States inside
or outside the State of Georgia

* Retired members of any such component

* Surviving, unremarried spouses of qualified deceased members
who were killed while serving in a combat arena

There is no registration fee, manufacturing fee, or annual fee for
one of these specialty plates. An applicant is entitled to a second

plate upon payment of a $25 manufacturing fee in addition to a $20
annual fee.

License Plates: Disabled Veterans

Disabled Veteran’s License Plate

This license plate has a U.S. flag background, the International
Symbol of Access, and the words DISABLED VETERAN. A
motorcycle version of this plate is available.

Available to:
» Honorably discharged Georgia veterans considered disabled
by any of these criteria:
+ 100 percent totally and permanently disabled
+ 100 percent totally disabled — nonpermanent *
+ Less than 100 percent disabled but paid at the 100
percent rate due to unemployability
Loss or permanent loss of use of one or both feet
Loss or permanent loss of use of one or both hands
Loss of sight in one or both eyes
¢ Permanent impairment of both eyes *
* Surviving, unremarried spouses of qualified deceased veterans
* Surviving minor children of qualified deceased veterans
*— Requires annual recertification
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A — Central visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye (with
corrective glasses) or central visual acuity of more than 20/200 if
there is a field defect in which the peripheral field has contracted to
such an extent that the widest diameter of visual field subtends on
angular distance no greater than 20 degrees in the better eye.

Verification:

* Qualified veterans who obtain a VA entitlement letter indicating
the specific disability may apply directly with the Department of
Revenue’s Special Tag Unit. Call 404-968-3880 for more information.

* Alternatively, qualified veterans may obtain a certified statement
from an authorized physician and take it to a GDVS Veterans Field
Service Office along with discharge paperwork or proof of active-
duty service and verification of residency.

Fees:

* There is no registration fee, manufacturing fee, or annual fee for
this plate. An applicant is entitled to a second plate upon payment
of a $25 manufacturing fee in addition to a $20 annual fee.

* Veterans with a 100 percent service-connected disability rating
are exempt from ad valorem taxes on one vehicle. (See page 7.)

License Plates: Special Categories

Chosin Reservoir Campaign of 1950 License Plate

Georgia veterans of the U.S. armed forces who participated in
the Chosin Reservoir Campaign of 1950 in North Korea are eligible
for this specialty license plate. The surviving spouse of a qualified
deceased veteran is also eligible as long as not remarried.

There is a $25 manufacturing fee. There is a $20 annual fee.

An applicant is entitled to a second plate upon payment of a $25
manufacturing fee in addition to a $20 annual fee.

Gold Star License Plate

Georgians who are family (spouse, mother, father, step-parent,
child, sibling or sibling’s spouse) of a service member killed in action
while serving in the U.S. armed forces are eligible for this specialty
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license plate.

There is no registration fee, manufacturing fee, or annual fee
for the first plate issued to the spouse, mother, and father who
were Georgia residents at the time of death of the service member.
An applicant is entitled to a second plate upon payment of a $25
manufacturing fee in addition to a $20 annual fee.

For all other family members, including family members who
were not Georgia residents at the time of the service member’s
death, a $25 manufacturing fee and a $20 annual fee apply to the
first and any subsequent plates.

National Guard License Plate

Members of the Georgia National Guard are eligible for this
specialty license plate. The surviving spouse of a member of the
National Guard who was killed while serving in a combat arena is
also eligible as long as not remarried.

There is no registration fee, manufacturing fee, or annual fee for
this plate. An applicant is entitled to a second plate upon payment
of a $25 manufacturing fee in addition to a $20 annual fee.

Pearl Harbor Survivor License Plate

Georgia veterans of the U.S. armed forces who survived the
Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor are eligible for this specialty
license plate. The surviving spouse of a qualified deceased veteran
is also eligible as long as not remarried.

There is no registration fee, manufacturing fee, or annual fee for
this plate. An applicant is entitled to a second plate upon payment
of a $25 manufacturing fee in addition to a $20 annual fee.

Former Prisoner of War License Plate

Georgia veterans who are former prisoners of war with a
discharge from the U.S. armed forces under honorable conditions
are eligible for this specialty license plate. The surviving spouse of a
qualified deceased veteran is also eligible as long as not remarried.
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For purposes of this specialty license plate, “prisoner of war” is
defined as a veteran who was captured and held prisoner by forces
hostile to the United States while serving in the U.S. armed forces
in World War Il, the Korean War, or the Vietham War.
There is no registration fee, manufacturing fee, or annual fee for

this plate. An applicant is entitled to a second plate upon payment
of a $25 manufacturing fee in addition to a $20 annual fee.

Hunting and Fishing Licenses
Georgia residency is a requirement for each of the following.

Returning Veterans

Returning veterans are entitled to a free one-year honorary full
privilege sportsman’s license, including all state paid recreational
hunting and fishing privileges.

Eligibility: veterans discharged from active duty as members of
a regular or reserve component of any branch of service, as well
as Georgia National Guard members ordered to federal duty for a
period of 90 days or longer.

Permanently and Totally Disabled

Veterans with a permanent and total disability rating from VA (or
another government agency) for a physical or mental impairment
which prevents gainful employment are eligible. Veterans disabled
because of a mental impairment will only be issued a free honorary
fishing license.

Totally Blind
Eligible for a free lifetime honorary fishing license.

Age 65 and Older

Eligible for a free lifetime senior hunting and fishing license.
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Other Special State Provisions

Driving License Renewal Extension for Combat Deployed

Military personnel on active duty can request a Georgia driver’s
license/ID card renewal through the mail. Georgia also allows a six-
month grace period for a service member whose Georgia driver’s
license expires while on active duty outside the state.

Employment Preference

A 5-point credit is extended to war veterans seeking employment
with the State of Georgia. A 10-point credit is extended to veterans
with a VA service-connected disability rating of 10 percent or more.

Handicapped Parking

If a disabled veteran’s license plate is properly displayed, the
veteran is authorized to park in parking areas designated for the
handicapped without obtaining special parking permits.

High School Diplomas for World War 1l Veterans

Veterans who failed to receive a high school diploma due to an
interruption of education by service in World War Il are eligible to
receive their diplomas. Apply at the board of education of the school
district where the veteran attended high school.

Motor Fuel Service to Handicapped

When there is an option on the price of fuel at a full-service/self-
service facility, a station employee, upon request, will dispense fuel
at the lower price from the self-service pump into a vehicle bearing
Disabled Veteran license plates, if the disabled veteran is driving
the vehicle and is not accompanied by a person at least 16 years of
age who is not blind and does not have impaired mobility.
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State Park Entrance Fee Reduction

Georgia veterans with a discharge from the U.S. armed forces
under honorable conditions and a VA service-connected disability
rating are eligible for a 25 percent reduction of the entrance fee to
state parks, historical sites, and recreational areas.

To apply, bring DD Form 214, verification of service-connected
disability, and proof of residency to a GDVS Veterans Field
Service Office. A service officer will verify eligibility and forward the
application to the GDVS Central Office. If approved, the state park
discount card will be mailed.

Vital Statistics

Veterans and their families may obtain copies of marriage,
divorce, birth, and death documents without charge through the
GDVS, provided the copies are to be used for establishing disability
or death claims, and the request is in writing.

Public Information

The GDVS Public Information Division supports the department’s
internal and external communications and outreach missions, with
the ultimate goal of keeping Georgia’s veterans and their families
informed of important news and events.

The division maintains veterans.georgia.gov, which is home
to the department’s official news feed and calendar of events as
well as the most up-to-date version of this book, directories, and
information about the other divisions of the GDVS.

The division continuously updates Georgians about important
veterans news via social media. Stay informed by joining the GDVS
communities at facebook.com/gavetsvc and twitter.com/gavetsvc.

The division produces informational materials such as this book,
brochures, cards, calendars, and other items.

Contact: 404-656-5933 or gavetsvc@yvs.state.ga.us.
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Appeals Assistance

The primary function of the GDVS Claims & Appeals Division
is to assist veterans and their families in the prosecution of claims
for benefits and entitlements from the federal government and the
State of Georgia. Additionally, the division provides support service
for claims filed at GDVS Veterans Field Service Offices.

The division assigns representatives to assist veterans through
the process of appealing initially denied claims. These include
personal hearings before the local VA Hearing Officer or before the
Travel Section of the Board of Veterans Appeals from Washington,
D.C., and the Discharge Review Boards from the Department of
Defense Service Departments (when convened in Atlanta).

The Claims & Appeals Division is located in the same building
as the Atlanta VA Regional Office at 1700 Clairmont Road, Decatur,
GA 30033.

Please call ahead before visiting, as this office is open on an
appointment-only basis.

Contact: 404-929-5345

Education & Training

By law, the Georgia Department of Veterans Service is designated
as the State Approving Agency (SAA), responsible for approving
and supervising all institutions and establishments in Georgia that
offer education and training under the provisions of the Veterans
Educational Assistance Program (Gl Bill).

Within the GDVS, the SAA function is performed by the Veterans
Education & Training Division.

This division is responsible for ensuring that approved institutions
and establishments meet and maintain acceptable standards so that
eligible persons who attend may receive educational assistance
from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
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These programs must have SAA approval before veterans and
other eligible persons may receive educational benefits (Gl Bill)
from VA under the authority of Title 38, U.S. Code and Chapter
1606 Title 10.

Federal and state laws require stringent regulatory compliance
of all institutions and establishments approved for veterans
attendance. The responsibilities of approval, annual inspections,
and ensuring corrective action when necessary, constitute a vital
function of the Georgia SAA.

The SAA has the function of ensuring educational institutions and
establishments meet and maintain acceptable standards so eligible
persons who attend may receive educational assistance from VA.
This includes all public and private schools and all establishments
offering apprenticeship and other on-the-job training.

The satisfactory performance of these duties requires SAA
personnel to have extensive knowledge in education administration
and a full understanding of the laws and regulations that govern
and control the Veterans Educational Assistance Program.

For further information concerning approved universities,
colleges, technical and trade schools; flight schools; correspondence
schools; apprenticeship and on-the-job training programs, contact
any of the SAA staff at 404-656-2306 or 404-656-2322

On-the-Job Training Programs

On-the-Job (OJT) programs may be approved for a wide variety
of entry-level jobs. Once approved, a veteran participates in the
OJT program while working under the employer’s supervision.
The veteran receives monthly VA education benefits in addition to
regular salary.

In order to apply, a veteran must be employed full-time with an
employer who can provide training in a bona fide trade or skill in
which the veteran is not already qualified.
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Apprenticeship Programs

Apprenticeship training is similar to OJT, but includes theoretical
instruction as well as practical training. While learning a trade
as an “apprentice,” the veteran is taught by a skilled worker, a
“‘journeyman.” Once approved, the veteran receives VA education
benefits while working full-time and earning wages.

Apprenticeship programs differ from OJT in that they are normally
two or more years in length. They require a minimum of 144 hours
of related classroom instruction per year. The employer, local
technical college, union, or the Federal Bureau of Apprenticeship
Training usually provides classroom instruction.

The SAA approves non-registered programs. Both the Federal
Bureau of Apprenticeship Training and the SAA approve registered
apprenticeship programs. Some examples of approved programs
are carpenter, electrician, brick mason, and plumber.

State War Veterans Homes

There are two skilled nursing care homes for eligible war
veterans located in Georgia. One is in Augusta and the other is in
Milledgeville.

The primary mission of these homes is to provide high quality
skilled nursing care to veterans while seeking to improve their
quality of life and overall health.

Eligibility criteria:
» The veteran must be a current Georgia resident and meet one
of the following conditions:
+ Resided in Georgia two years immediately preceding the
date of application
+ Resided in Georgia five or more of the past 15 years
* The veteran must have served on active duty in the U.S. armed
forces during one of the following wartime periods:
+ World War Il: December 7, 1941 — December 31, 1946
+ Korea: June 27, 1950 — January 31, 1955
¢ Cold War: January 31, 1955 — July 1, 1964
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+ Vietnam: July 1, 1964 — May 7, 1975

+ Persian Gulf: August 2, 1990 — present
» The veteran must have a discharge under other than
dishonorable conditions.
* The veteran must be approved as eligible for skilled nursing
care by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).
* The veteran must be free of contagious infectious disease and
behavioral and psychiatric problems.
» The veteran must not need to be sustained by line-operated
mechanical means.

To apply for admission, contact the Admissions Office of one of
the homes or any GDVS Veterans Field Service Office.

A nominal daily fee is charged. Eligible veterans may apply for
the federal Aid & Attendance benefit to help offset this fee. For
veterans with a service-connected disability rating of 70 percent or
higher or whose admission is due to a service-connected condition,
the daily fee is paid in full by VA.

Georgia War Veterans Nursing Home — Augusta

The Georgia War Veterans Home in Augusta is a 192-bed skilled
nursing care facility located adjacent to the campus of Georgia
Regents University, across from the Charlie Norwood VA Medical
Center. It is operated under an interagency agreement between the
GDVS and GRU.

Dedicated in 1969, the home was the first of its kind built with
federal financial grant assistance. It is one of a select group of such
institutions accredited by The Joint Commission.

Along with the provision of skilled nursing care, the home serves
as a teaching facility to acquaint medical, dental, pharmacy, and
allied health students with the medical conditions and diseases
of the aged. This provides students with practical experience and
helps them gain expertise in treating the disabled and the elderly.

Additionally, the home contains a GDVS Veterans Field Service
Office to assist veterans in the area.
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Admissions Office

Georgia War Veterans Nursing Home

1101 15" Street, Augusta, GA 30901

706-721-2405 veterans.ga.gov/gwvnh-augusta

Georgia War Veterans Home — Milledgeville

The Georgia War Veterans Home is a 550-bed skilled nursing
care facility comprised of four buildings located on approximately
17 acres. The home provides skilled nursing care and specialty
care for Alzheimer’s residents.

The home is operated through an agreement with United Veteran
Services of Georgia, an affiliate of UHS-Pruitt Corporation.

Additionally, the home contains a GDVS Veterans Field Service
Office to assist veterans in the area.

Admissions Office

Georgia War Veterans Home

2249 Vinson Highway, Milledgeville, GA 31061
478-445-4295 veterans.ga.gov/gwvh-milledgeville

State Veterans Memorial Cemeteries

The Georgia Veterans Memorial Cemeteries, established for the
interment of faithful and honorable military veterans, are shrines
recognizing all Georgia veterans.

There are two Georgia Veterans Memorial Cemeteries, located
in Glennville and Milledgeville, open for interment of qualified
veterans and dependents.

Each cemetery includes a welcome center, a chapel, in-ground
interment areas, and columbariums connected by paved roadways
and walkways in beautiful landscaped settings. Gravesite locators
are available for the convenience of visitors.

Eligible for interment:
* Veterans with a discharge other than dishonorable
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* Members of the Reserves or National Guard who were eligible
for retirement pay at the time of death (or who would have been
entitled to retirement pay at age 60)

* Members of the U.S. armed forces killed in the line of duty while
on active duty or active duty for training

* Members of the U.S. armed forces who otherwise died on
active duty

+ Certain other veterans as defined in federal law

» Spouses, unmarried dependents under the age of 21, and
eligible life-long dependents of any of the above

Proper paperwork is required to determine eligibility. The
veteran’s name; rank; serial, social security and VA claim numbers;
date of birth and date of death must be provided to cemetery
personnel. A copy of the veteran’s DD Form 214 or other proof of
service is required. A copy of the marriage certificate is required for
the spouse to be buried with the veteran.

Standard upright, granite headstones are used to mark the
burial sites of casketed and cremated remains. Small granite
covers are used to mark the niches of cremated remains placed in
columbariums.

Plots, vaults, niches, and markers are provided at no charge.
Use of the committal chapel for interment services is also free. The
family is responsible for all other expenses.

The vaults provided are concrete-lined and double-depth for the
veteran and spouse or dependent. (If the veteran selects interment
for cremated remains, the spouse or dependent must also select
interment for cremated remains.)

The GDVS pledges to honor the dignity and memory of each
person. Cemetery staff will make the interment as compassionate
and comfortable as possible, ensuring the committal service and
any other requests are handled respectfully. They will assist family
and friends in every way possible during their time of sorrow.

Business hours are from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday.

Interment hours are from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., Monday-Friday.
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Visiting hours are from 8 a.m. to dusk daily, including weekends.

Georqgia Veterans Memorial Cemetery — Glennville

Georgia Veterans Memorial Cemetery — Glennville
8819 U.S. Highway 301, Glennville, GA 30427
912-654-5398 veterans.ga.gov/gvmc-glennville

Georqgia Veterans Memorial Cemetery — Milledgeville

Georgia Veterans Memorial Cemetery — Milledgeville
2617 Vinson Highway, Milledgeville, GA 31061
478-445-3363 veterans.ga.gov/gvmc-milledgeville

Returning Veterans Task Force

The Returning Veterans Task Force (RVTF) is an intra-state task
force that investigates how Georgia’s state government agencies can
coordinate services to better assist service members transitioning
from active duty back into society.

The RVTF is comprised of:

* the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental
Disabilities

* the Georgia Department of Community Health

* the Georgia Department of Defense

* the Georgia Department of Human Services

* the Georgia Department of Labor

* the Georgia Department of Veterans Service

» the Judicial Council of Georgia/Administrative Office of the Courts
+ the Technical College System of Georgia

* the University System of Georgia

» the Workforce Division of the Georgia Department of Economic
Development

For more information on RVTF agencies and the services they
provide, visit veterans.georgia.gov/rvtf.

For general information on other Georgia state government
agencies, call 1-800-GEORGIA or visit georgia.gov.
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Women Veterans Coordinator

To address issues unique to female veterans, the GDVS employs

a Women Veterans Coordinator. Please contact 404-929-5345 or

40

4-656-2300 for assistance.

Veterans Field Service Offices

GDVS Veterans Field Service Offices are located throughout

Georgia and staffed by professional service officers who will advise
veterans and their families regarding earned federal and state
veterans benefits.

Visit veterans.georgia.gov/field-offices for updates and holiday

schedules.
Albany
1303 W. Broad Ave., Albany, GA 31707
229-430-1797 veterans.georgia.gov/albany
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday
Americus
1601 N. Martin Luther King Blvd., Ste 210, Americus, GA 31719
229-931-2546 veterans.georgia.gov/americus
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8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Athens
9249 U.S. Highway 29, Suite D, Athens, GA 30601
706-369-5630 veterans.georgia.gov/athens

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Atlanta

Floyd Veterans Memorial Bldg., West Tower, Suite 460
205 Jesse Hill, Jr. Drive SE, Atlanta, GA 30334
404-656-5940 veterans.georgia.gov/atlanta

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Augusta
1101 15" St., Augusta, GA 30901-3196
706-721-4301 veterans.georgia.gov/augusta

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday
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Augusta
Charlie Norwood VA Medical Center, Room 2-D-105C

950 15" St., Augusta, GA 30901-3196
706-823-2218 veterans.georgia.gov/augusta
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday.

Bainbridge
307 East Broughton St., Bainbridge, GA 39817-4003

229-248-2663 veterans.georgia.gov/bainbridge
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Blairsville

Blairsville VA Community Based Outpatient Clinic
1294 Georgia Highway 515 East, Blairsville, GA 30512
706-745-6341 veterans.georgia.gov/blairsville
7:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Brunswick

11 Judicial Lane, Suite 203, Brunswick, GA 31520
912-262-2345 veterans.georgia.gov/brunswick
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Canton

100 North St., Suite G-20, Canton, GA 30114-2779
770-720-3538 veterans.georgia.gov/canton

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Carrollton

Trinka Davis Veterans Village Outpatient Clinic, Room E-083
180 Martin Drive, Carrollton, GA 30117

404-321-6111, ext. 2554 veterans.georgia.gov/carrollton
7:30 a.m.-4 p.m., Monday-Friday

Cartersville

320 W. Cherokee Ave., Room 105, Cartersville, GA 30120
770-387-3746 veterans.georgia.gov/cartersville

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Cedartown

142 West Ave., Cedartown, GA 30125

770-749-2209 veterans.georgia.gov/cedartown

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday and Friday; 8 a.m.-noon, Wednesday

29


veterans.georgia.gov/augusta
veterans.georgia.gov/bainbridge
veterans.georgia.gov/blairsville
veterans.georgia.gov/brunswick
veterans.georgia.gov/canton
veterans.georgia.gov/carrollton
veterans.georgia.gov/cartersville
veterans.georgia.gov/cedartown

30

State Benefits for Georgia Veterans

Clarkesville

6257 Georgia Highway 115, Suite 3, Clarkesville, GA 30523
706-754-4316 veterans.georgia.gov/clarkesville
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday, Thursday, and Friday
Columbus

1520 Third Ave. Suite 5, Columbus, GA 31901
706-649-1266 veterans.georgia.gov/columbus
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Conyers

983 Taylor St., Conyers, GA 30012

770-388-5075 veterans.georgia.gov/conyers

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Cordele

Crisp County Government Center, Room 204

210 Seventh St. South, Cordele, GA 31015
229-276-2366 veterans.georgia.gov/cordele
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Dalton
305 Point North Place, Suite 7, Dalton, GA 30722-1104
706-272-2355 veterans.georgia.gov/dalton

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Decatur

Atlanta VA Medical Center, Room 1C204

1670 Clairmont Road, Decatur, GA 30033-4004
404-728-7611 veterans.georgia.gov/decatur
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Douglas
Department of Labor, 70 Lockwood, Douglas, GA 31533-2143
912-389-4898 veterans.georgia.gov/douglas

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Dublin

Carl Vinson VA Medical Center, Room 124-6, Ward 6A
1826 Veterans Blvd., Dublin, GA 31021-3699
478-272-4266 veterans.georgia.gov/dublin

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday
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Elberton

Elbert County Office Complex,

45 Forest Ave., Elberton, GA 30635

706-213-2040 veterans.georgia.gov/elberton
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Fort McPherson

Fort McPherson/East Point VA Community Based Outpatient Clinic
1701 Hardee Ave., S.W., Bldg. 129, Rm. 2C221, Atlanta, GA 30310
404-321-6111, ext. 4997 veterans.georgia.gov/fort-mcpherson

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Gainesyville
311 Green St. NW, Room 405, Gainesville, GA 30501-6060
770-531-6060 veterans.georgia.gov/gainesville

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Glennville

Georgia Veterans Memorial Cemetery

8819 US Hwy 301, Glennville, GA 30427
912-654-5159 veterans.georgia.gov/glennville
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Griffin

819 Memorial Drive, Griffin, GA 30223
770-412-4074 veterans.georgia.gov/griffin

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Hartwell

194 Cade Street, Suite B, Hartwell , GA 30643
706-376-4461 veterans.georgia.gov/hartwell

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Hinesville

Hinesville VA Community Based Outpatient Clinic

500 E. Oglethorpe Highway, Room C-126, Hinesville, GA 31313
912-408-2900, ext. 2948 veterans.georgia.gov/hinesville

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

LaFayette
Judiciary Annex, 108-E Villanow St., LaFayette, GA 30728-2519
706-638-5544 veterans.georgia.gov/lafayette

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday
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LaGrange
2170 West Point Road, Suite 35, LaGrange, GA 30240
706-845-4095 veterans.georgia.gov/lagrange

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Lawrenceville

Lawrenceville VA Community Based Outpatient Clinic

455 Phillip Blvd., Ste 200, Room 106, Lawrenceville, GA 30046
404-321-6111, ext.1964 veterans.georgia.gov/lawrenceville
8 a.m.-4 p.m., Monday-Friday

Lyons

126 W. Grady Ave., Lyons, GA 30436

912-526-8860 veterans.georgia.gov/lyons

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Macon

653 Second St., Room 203, Macon, GA 31201-2817
478-751-3186 veterans.georgia.gov/macon

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday.

Marietta

1150 Powder Springs Street, Suite 350, Marietta, GA, 30064
770-528-3254 veterans.georgia.gov/marietta

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Milledgeville
2249 Vinson Highway, Milledgeville, GA 31059-0941

478-445-4751 veterans.georgia.gov/milledgeville
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Moultrie

101 East Central Ave., Room 127, Moultrie, GA 31768
229-891-7135 veterans.georgia.gov/moultrie

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Newnan

22 East Broad St., Room 119, Newnan, GA 30264
770-254-7260 veterans.georgia.gov/newnan

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday
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Oakwood

Oakwood VA Community Based Outpatient Clinic

4175 Tanners Creek Drive, Suite 111, Flowery Branch 30542
404-321-6111, ext. 8225 veterans.georgia.gov/oakwood
7:30 a.m.-4 p.m., Monday-Friday

Rome
201 Calhoun Ave., Rome, GA 30161
706-295-6026 veterans.georgia.gov/rome

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

St. Marys
St. Marys VA Community Based Outpatient Clinic

205 Lakeshore Point, St. Marys, GA 31558
912-510-3440 veterans.georgia.gov/st-marys
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Savannah

Savannah VA Community Based Outpatient Clinic

325 W. Montgomery Cross Roads, Savannah, GA 31406-3309
912-920-0214 ext. 2191 veterans.georgia.gov/savannah
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Statesboro
3A West Altman St., Statesboro, GA 30458
912-871-1104 veterans.georgia.gov/statesboro

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Swainsboro

Emanuel County Office Building, Room 3

101 North Main St., Swainsboro, GA 30401
478-289-2617 veterans.georgia.gov/swainsboro
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Thomasville

406 Smith Ave., Thomasville, GA 31792
229-225-4050 veterans.georgia.gov/thomasville
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Tifton

222 Chestnut Ave., Tifton, GA 31793-0534
229-386-3856 veterans.georgia.gov/tifton

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday
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Valdosta

Valdosta VA Community Based Outpatient Clinic
2841 North Patterson St., Valdosta, GA 31602-1938
229-333-2178 veterans.georgia.gov/valdosta
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Warner Robins

Warner Robins City Hall, Room 206

700 Watson Blvd., Warner Robins, GA 31093-3414
478-293-1005 veterans.georgia.gov/warner-robins
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Washington
104 East Liberty St., Washington, GA 30673-1422

706-678-2821 veterans.georgia.gov/washington
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Waycross
415 Lott St., Waycross, GA 31501
912-285-6340 veterans.georgia.gov/waycross

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Waynesboro
Burke County Office Park, Room 107

715 West Sixth St., Waynesboro, GA 30830-0093
706-554-3874 veterans.georgia.gov/waynesboro
8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday

Satellite Locations

In some areas where the Georgia Department of Veterans Service
is unable to maintain a full-time Veterans Field Service Office,
GDVS personnel provide itinerant service to satellite locations.

For a list of current satellite locations and itinerant service
schedules, please visit veterans.georgia.gov/satellite-locations or
contact your nearest GDVS Veterans Field Service Office.
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Appendix: Frequently Asked Questions

Records

How do | obtain a copy of my DD Form 214?

If your Home of Record is listed as Georgia, the Georgia Department
of Veterans Service should have a copy of your DD Form 214 on file.
Contact the GDVS at 404-656-5940 to request a copy.

If your Home of Record is listed as another state, you may file a
request via the National Archives: archives.gov/veterans.

If you are requesting a DD Form 214 for a family member, the
request must be filed via the National Archives.

How do | obtain a certified copy of my DD Form 214?

You will need to complete a Standard Form 180 (SF 180), sign and
mail it to the address in block #14 to the Military Records section of the
National Personnel Records Center, St. Louis, MO.

To obtain SF 180, contact any GDVS Veterans Field Service Office,
call the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs at 800-827-1000, or visit
the SF 180 topic at archives.gov/veterans.

How do | obtain military medals from service?

You will need to complete a Standard Form 180 (SF 180), sign and
mail it to the Military Records section of the National Personnel Records
Center, St. Louis, MO. For assistance, you may contact any GDVS
Veterans Field Service Office, call the U.S. Department of Veterans
Affairs at 800-827-1000, or visit archives.gov/veterans.

What is the Vietnam War Certificate of Honor?

How do | get one?

The Vietnam War Certificate of Honor was introduced as part of the
commemoration of the 50" anniversary of the Vietnam War. The State
of Georgia and the GDVS want to honor every Vietnam War veteran in
the state.

The certificate is available to every Georgia veteran with honorable
service during the Vietnam War. This includes veterans with service in
country and those who served in other capacities.

Each certificate is personalized with the Vietham War veteran’s
name, rank, branch of service, and dates of service printed over the
Seal of the State of Georgia and includes the official U.S. Department
of Defense’s Vietnam War Commemorative Partner logo.

To learn more about the program or to apply for a certificate, contact
the GDVS Commemoration Office at certificates@vs.state.ga.us or 404-
463-3080.

35



mailto:certificates@vs.state.ga.us
archives.gov/veterans
archives.gov/veterans
archives.gov/veterans

36

State Benefits for Georgia Veterans

Federal Benefits

Can the GDVS help me apply for federal veterans benefits?

Absolutely. GDVS personnel are certified to counsel veterans on
their eligibility for federal veterans benefits and assist them in applying.
Further, if the initial claim is denied, the GDVS can assist in the appeals
process. Find an office near you by visiting veterans.ga.gov/field-offices.

| have been advised to apply to VA for compensation.

What is compensation, and how do | apply?

Compensation is a benefit program that evaluates a disability
resulting from all types of diseases and injuries encountered because
of military service. Generally, the degree of disability specified is also
designed to compensate for considerable loss of working time from
exacerbations or illnesses. We will be happy to assist you with the
application process; visit any GDVS Veterans Field Service Office for
assistance. For additional information, see the compensation topic at
the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs website, va.gov.

My spouse died of a service-connected disability.

What benefits am | entitled to, and how do | apply?

The entitlement is referred to as Dependency and Indemnity
Compensation (DIC). This benefit pays a monthly payment to a surviving
spouse, child, or parent of a veteran whose death was determined to be
service-connected. We will be happy to assist you with the application
process; visit any GDVS Veterans Field Service Office for assistance.
For additional information, see the DIC topic at the U.S. Department of
Veterans Affairs website, va.gov.

| was exposed to Agent Orange during my service.

What benefits am | entitled to?

The chemical defoliate Agent Orange is closely associated with
Vietnam, as it was used extensively in the jungles and adjoining regions.
Any veteran who served in Vietnam is presumed to have been exposed
to Agent Orange. (Such “boots on the ground” service includes traveling
certain waterways and adjacent areas.) Also presumed exposed are
members of the Air Force and Air Force Reserve who worked on
contaminated aircraft. Agent Orange was also deployed in the Korean
demilitarized zone during 1968-71.

There are 14 medical conditions linked to Agent Orange exposure.
(See the list at publichealth.va.gov/exposures/agentorange/conditions.)
A veteran who develops one of these conditions may be eligible for
compensation and medical care.

We will be happy to assist you with the application process; visit
any GDVS Veterans Field Service Office for assistance.



veterans.ga.gov/field-offices
va.gov
va.gov
publichealth.va.gov/exposures/agentorange/conditions

A summary for veterans and their families

Veterans in Georgia

How many veterans live in Georgia?

As of September 30, 2014, the National Center for Veterans
Analysis and Statistics estimated 752,882 veterans living in Georgia.

For more in-depth figures, including county-by-county breakdowns,
visit the NCVAS website: va.gov/vetdata.

Can | have a list of all the veterans in an area?

The Georgia Department of Veterans Service does not maintain a
list of all veterans living in Georgia. While we do maintain lists of veterans
receiving services or assistance, that information is confidential and is
not available to the public.

What information is available about Georgians killed in action?

Lists of all veteran casualties with a Home of Record in Georgia are
currently being developed. Anyone interested in using these lists will be
able to search for information by what conflict they served in, the county
of the Home of Record, and year of death.

When these lists are completed, they will become available at
veterans.georgia.gov/history.

How do | a locate a veteran?

The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs and the Georgia
Department of Veterans Service are limited, by law, to the extent they
can help locate a veteran. VA will try to forward a letter to a veteran, but
it is up to the veteran to contact the sender of the letter.

The proper procedure is to write a letter to the veteran and place
it in an unsealed envelope, bearing the veteran’s name, with sufficient
postage to cover mailing costs. Forward that letter and envelope to VA.
Include a cover letter detailing as much identifying information about the
veteran as possible: full name, date of birth, last known address, service
serial number, VA claim number, Social Security number, last military
address, rank, and date of discharge.

Mail the request to: VA Regional Office-Atlanta, Attention: Privacy
Act Office (211D), 1700 Clairmont Road, Decatur, GA 30330.

VA will forward the letter to the veteran’s address if it is known. If
the address is unknown or if the letter is returned undeliverable, VA will
return the writer’s original letter.

Can you put me in touch with a veterans service organization?
GDVS maintains a list of the major veterans service organizations
operating in Georgia. Visit veterans.ga.gov/vso-leadership.
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Employment

How do I find a job with the GDVS?

As vacancies occur within the GDVS, they are announced and
recruited via the Team Georgia Careers website: team.georgia.gov/
careers. This is the primary recruiting site for job vacancies in Georgia
state government agencies.

What other job resources are available from the state?

The Georgia Department of Labor (GDOL) offers assistance to job-
seeking veterans and their families. Job search workshops, résumé and
cover letter assistance, and resources for transitioning into the civilian
workforce are a few of the services provided for veterans.

Find more information at the GDOL'’s Veteran Assistance topic at
dol.state.ga.us/js/find_vet_info.htm.

Aren’t there companies specifically looking for veterans?

Job-seeking veterans may also be interested in Operation:
Workforce, a program developed by the Workforce Division of the
Georgia Department of Economic Development specifically to connect
job-seeking veterans with employers who want to hire them.

Veterans can find tools to translate their military occupational
classifications into civilian jobs and search for career opportunities with
employers who have pledged to hire veterans.

Sign up as a job-seeker at operationworkforce.com.

How do | hire a veteran?

Operation: Workforce is a program developed by the Workforce
Division of the Georgia Department of Economic Development
specifically to connect job-seeking veterans with employers who want
to hire them.

Sign up as an employer at operationworkforce.com.

Feedback

How can | provide feedback?

If you would like to report a problem, make a suggestion, give a
compliment, or otherwise convey feedback on your experience with
GDVS Veterans Field Service Office personnel, please contact the
relevant regional director: veterans.georgia.gov/regional-directors.

For any other issue, please direct your comments to the GDVS
Public Information Division at gavetsvc@vs.state.ga.us. Your feedback
will be forwarded to the appropriate office.
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A summary for veterans and their families

Appendix: O.C.G.A. References

The following are
references to the specific
sections of the Official
Code of Georgia Annotated
wherein the relevant law
may be found: e.g., the

law pertaining to Veterans
Driving Licenses is found in
Title 40, Chapter 5, Article
2, abbreviated as: O.C.G.A.
40-5-36.

To search the O.C.G.A.,
visit lexisnexis.com/
hottopics/gacode.

Homestead Tax
Exemptions

Disabled Veterans
0.C.G.A. 48-5-48
0.C.G.A. 48-5-380

Standard Homestead
Exemption
0.C.G.A. 48-5-44

10-Acre Exemption for 65
and Older
0.C.G.A. 48-5-48-3

$4,000 Exemption for 65
and Older
0.C.G.A. 48-5-47

Educational Purposes
Exemption for 62 and Older
0.C.G.A. 48-5-52

Floating Inflation-Proof
Exemption for 62 and Older
0O.C.G.A. 48-5-47-1

Other Tax Exemptions

Abatement of State Income
Taxes
0.C.G.A. 48-7-37

Ad Valorem Tax on Vehicles
0.C.G.A. 40-2-69

Business Certificate of
Exemption

0.C.G.A. 43-12-1
0.C.G.A. 43-12-2

Sales Tax on Vehicles
0.C.G.A. 48-8-3

State Income Tax
0.C.G.A. 40-7-36

Driving Licenses/ID Cards

Veteran’s Driver’s License
0.C.G.A. 40-5-36

Veteran’s ID Card
0.C.G.A. 40-5-103

License Plates

Veteran
0.C.G.A. 40-2.85.1

Retired Military
0.C.G.A. 40-2-85.1

Commemorative Service
0.C.G.A. 40-2-85.1

Military Medal
0.C.G.A. 40-2.85.1

Purple Heart (Motorcycle)
0O.C.G.A. 40-2-84

Medal of Honor
0.C.G.A. 40-2-68

Reserve Component
0.C.G.A. 40-2-65

Disabled Veteran
0.C.G.A. 40-2-69
0.C.G.A. 40-2-70
0.C.G.A. 48-5-478

Chosin Reservoir
0.C.G.A. 40-2-85.2.

Gold Star
0.C.G.A. 40-2-85.3

National Guard
0.C.G.A. 40-2-66

Pearl Harbor Survivor
0.C.G.A. 40-2-85

Former Prisoner of War
0.C.G.A. 40-2-73

Hunting and Fishing
Licenses

Returning Veterans
0.C.G.A. 27-2-4 (g9) (1)-(2)

Permanently & Totally
Disabled Veterans
0.C.G.A. 27-2-4 (a)

Permanently & Totally
Disabled Residents
0.C.G.A. 27-2-4 (a)

Totally Blind Residents
0.C.G.A. 27-2-4 (b)

Residents Age 65 and Older
O.C.G.A. 27-2-3.1(f)(E)

Other Provisions

Employment Preference
5U.S.C. 2108

Handicapped Parking
0.C.G.A. 40-6-224
0.C.G.A. 40-6-226

High School Diplomas for
World War Il Veterans
0.C.G.A. 20-2-69

Motor Fuel Service to
Handicapped
0.C.G.A. 10-1-164.1

State Park Entrance Fee
Reduction
0.C.G.A. 12-3-91

Vital Statistics
0.C.G.A. 38-1-1
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