Other Special State Provisions
A 5-point credit is extended to war veterans employed by the State of Georgia. A 10-point credit is extended to veterans employed by the State of Georgia with a VA service connected disability of 10 percent or more.
[5 U.S.C. § 2108]
The Uniform Guardianship Act provides for appointment of a guardian for incompetent veterans and for veterans’ children when VA benefits are involved. These appointments are made on the basis of certificates issued only by VA.
[O.C.G.A. § 29-7-1 – § 29-7-17]
If a disabled veteran’s license plate from Georgia, or any other state, is properly displayed on the veteran’s vehicle, the veteran is authorized to park in parking areas designated for the handicapped without obtaining special handicapped parking area permits.
[O.C.G.A. § 40-6-224 and § 40-6-226]
Hunting and Fishing Licenses
Georgia residents within certain categories are eligible for free honorary hunting and fishing licenses. Georgia residency is a requirement for a free honorary hunting and fishing license.
A. Returning Veterans – Returning veterans are entitled to a free honorary hunting and fishing license for a period of one year following issuance. Returning veterans are defined as veterans who are discharged from active duty as members of the regular or reserve component of the armed forces of the United States, the United States Coast Guard, the Georgia National Guard, or the Georgia Air National Guard and who was on ordered federal duty for a period of 90 days or longer.
[O.C.G.A. § 27-2-4 (g) (1)-(2)]
B. Permanently & Totally Disabled Veterans – Veterans with a permanent and total disability rating from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs for a physical or mental impairment which prevents gainful employment are eligible. Veterans disabled because of a mental impairment will only be issued a free honorary fishing license. Licenses in effect as of July 1, 1998 do not require renewal. Licenses issued after July 1, 1998 require renewal every three years.
[O.C.G.A. § 27-2-4 (a)]
C. Permanently & Totally Disabled Residents – Georgia residents’ who are certified by a recognized agency as permanently and totally disabled for a physical or mental impairment which prevents gainful employment are eligible. Recognized agencies for certification include the Social Security Administration, Medicaid, Medicare, the Railroad Retirement System, or a unit of federal, state, or local government recognized by the board by rule or regulation. Residents disabled because of a mental impairment will only be issued a free honorary fishing license. Licenses in effect as of July 1, 1998 do not require renewal. Licenses issued after July 1, 1998 require renewal every three years.
[O.C.G.A. § 27-2-4 (a)]
D. Totally Blind Residents – Georgia residents who are totally blind are eligible for a free lifetime honorary fishing license.
[O.C.G.A. § 27-2-4 (b)]
E. Residents Age 65 and Older – Georgia residents who are 65 years of age or older are eligible for a free lifetime senior hunting and fishing license.
[O.C.G.A. § 27-2-3.1(f)(E)]
Military Commissary Access
If you have been rated as 100% disabled by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs for a service-connected disability, you are eligible to shop in military commissaries and exchanges once you obtain the proper ID card. In order to get an ID card, applicants will need to obtain a verification letter from the Department of Veterans Affairs and take it to the ID card section of a military installation.
[DoDI 1000.13-6.1.10 & DoDI 1330.17-Encl 4.1.e.]
Motor Fuel Service to Handicapped
When there is an option on the price of fuel at a full-service/self-service facility, a station employee, upon request will dispense fuel at the lower price from the self-service pump into vehicles bearing DV license tags if: (1) the handicapped/disabled veteran is driving the vehicle into which fuel is to be dispensed; and (2) the veteran is not accompanied by a person at least 16 years of age who is not blind or has impaired mobility.
[O.C.G.A. § 10-1-164.1]
State Park Entrance Fee Reduction
Veterans with a discharge from the armed forces of the United States under honorable conditions and a rating by the VA for a service-connected disability are eligible for a 25 percent reduction of the entrance fee to state parks, historical sites, and recreational areas, if they are Georgia residents.
In order to apply for a state park discount card, qualified veterans should take a copy of their military discharge certificate (DD Form 214), verification of a VA service-connected disability, and proof of residency to a GDVS Veterans Field Service Office. A Veterans Field Service Officer will verify eligibility and forward the application to the GDVS Central Office. Applicants will receive their state park discount card in the mail.
[O.C.G.A. § 12-3-9.1]
Veterans, dependents, or veterans’ organizations, may obtain copies of marriage, divorce, birth, and death documents without charge through GDVS, provided the copies are to be used for establishing disability or death claims, and the request is in writing.
[O.C.G.A. § 38-1-1]